Thursday, January 31, 2008

BOOKS NOT RECEIVED YET

FROM THE FOLLOWING AUTHORS... 2/1/08 The Alien mind Visionary From The stars By: Virginia Lori Jennings Dragon's Blood: Denicalis Dragon Chronicles-book 1 The Prisoner: Denicalis Dragon Chronicles-book 2 Dragon's tear- book 3 By: M.J. Allaire Nina By: Liz DeJesus Once Upon An Accident-book 1 Lessons In Seduction-book 2 By: Melissa Schroeder The Curse Blue By: Maddie James She Cries In The Dark The Other Side Of You By: Debi DeSantis Honor Due By: D.H. Brown

UPDATED LIST OF BOOKS TO REVIEW

2-1-08 This List is Formed in order of which they arrived Via Snailmail #5 ALFALAND- By: Susie Honeycutt #6 VACATION- By: Jeremy C. Shipp #7 ORANGE CLOUDS BLUE SKY- By: J. Hale Turner #8 GRAVES IN THE WILDERNESS- By: J.R. Gordon #9 VOLCANO VERDICT-By: Jonathan Miller #10 THE SECRET LIFE OF A TEENAGE SIREN- By: Wendy Toliver #11 THOUGHTS FROM OLD WALLS- By: Marianne Loyd

WHAT AM I READING NOW?

2-1-08 WAKE (teen paranormal novel) By: Lisa McMann http://www.myspace.con/lisamcmann

Monday, January 28, 2008

West Across The Board *****REVIEW

Reads Like A Great Movie Of All Time... Lazaro was a young boy, who lived in Cuba with his parents. His mother died, and his father lost his job. Lazaro's father raised Lazaro during a time when poverty reached its peak, forcing Lazaro and his father to move to Key West. Lazaro's father worked in Florida, where Lazaro became a mariner. While his father worked, Lazaro was fascinated with the ocean, learning about the mysteries of the sea and navigation. Dominic is a talented Chicago engineer whose work introduced him to Key West. Lazaro and Dominic met in Sloppy Joes, a bar where the two men bonded while playing a chess game for the first time, which connected them to a lifetime of friendship. Over the course of many years, the two men played one-thousand games, carved on the back of this beautiful, laminated board. First-time novelist, Andrew Jalbert, takes the reader on a historical journey through the lives of Lazaro and Dominic. History comes to life from the 1930s, as well as the characters in this heartfelt story. The bond between Lazaro and Dominic draws them close like brothers, while sharing their life history over each game played with a chessboard, until Lazaro is eighty-six years old. Dominic suffers a terminal disease to cancer, and their last game is shared days before Dominic dies. The story is not only amazing, but is touching to the soul. An emotional story, packed with happiness, drama, sadness and tragedy. I recommend this book to anyone who loves a story based on history, family ties, and friendship. The description of the mysterious sea, with the palm trees, and the ocean's salty smell makes the reader feel the gentle breezes of Mother Nature when she's calm. The author paints a beautiful, peaceful scenery when the friendship grows through years of events that take place in Key West. Lazaro learns that life is unpredictable, after facing the death of his father and a good friend to a raging hurricane. The storm changes his life, nearly destroying his friendship with Dominic, while Lazaro isolates himself for many years, blaming himself for his father's death. Reading West across the Board is like watching "Gone With The Wind." An incredible journey through history, love, and tragedy. Geraldine Ahearn IOM Author of 6 books www.authorgeriahearnsbookreviews.blogspot.com

Saturday, January 26, 2008

*****UPDATES--BOOKS RECEIVED*****

BOOKS NOW RECEIVED FROM THE FOLLOWING AUTHORS & LISTED FOR REVIEW: REVIEW #8- GRAVES IN THE WILDERNESS (historical fiction) By: J.R. Gordon www.jrgordon.author.googlepages.com REVIEW #9--VOLCANO VERDICT (legal thriller) By: Jonathan Miller www.rattlesnakelawyer.com REVIEW # 10--The Secret Life Of A Teenage Siren (YA/teen/fiction) romantic comedy By: Wendy Toliver http://www.teenfictioncafe.blogspot.com www.wendytoliver.com

BOOKS NOT RECEIVED YET AS OF 1/26/08

FROM THE FOLLOWING AUTHORS... V.L. Jennings M.J. Allaire J.R. Gordon Jonathan Miller Wendy Toliver Liz DeJesus Melissa Schroeder Maddie James Marianne Loyd Debi DeSantis

Friday, January 25, 2008

~~UPCOMING REVIEWS~~

5. Alfaland By: Susie Honeycutt mystery/romance http://www.myspace.com/alfaland 6. Vacation By: Jeremy C. Shipp dark fiction/bizarro http://www.hauntedhousedressing.com/vacation.htm 7. Orange Clouds Blue Sky By: J. Hale Turner women/teen/young adult fiction www.myspace.com/jhaleturner ALL BOOKS ARE LISTED AS THEY ARE RECEIVED VIA SNAILMAIL Please direct questions U may have to: PoetessGeri@aol.com

Thursday, January 24, 2008

~~LISTING OF BOOKS FOR REVIEW~~

THIS LIST IS IN THE ORDER IN WHICH I RECEIVED THE BOOKS 1. STARS IN THEIR EYES--Danielle Turchiano-REVIEWED--Posted ON: This BLOG--Amazon.com & Booksurge.com 2. THE HEALER'S GARDEN--Nina Pierce--REVIEWED--Posted ON This BLOG 3. WEST ACROSS THE BOARD--Andrew Jalbert--Now Reading--Review Will be Posted On this Blog & Amazon.com 4. WAKE--Lisa McMann-(book received) 5. ALFALAND-Susie Honeycutt-(book received) 6. VACATION--Jeremy C. SHIPP--(book received) 7. ORANGE CLOUDS BLUE SKY--(book received) This is An Update of Books & Authors in the Listing as I received the Books I will Post Updates & Bulletins on myspace as Progress is being Made...

Wednesday, January 23, 2008

~~HOW ARE THE BOOKS LISTED~~

Each Author gives me the Info. via email pertaining to his or her book. I make Special Note of the info., then add it to my list, and also use the info. for Bulletins I make About the Author & Book--before--during--and After my review. The Books I read First are listed in order as they arrive in Snailmail. If an Author sends me 2 books via Snailmail on a Monday---those will be read prior to receiving a book from another Author on a Friday or Saturday. I'm reading on a first-come-first-serve basis as the books are received in my hands. I'd like to be fair to All Authors. The Bulletins I make is a Great Promo for your book, along with your Review. Have a Good Day To All!

Tuesday, January 22, 2008

*****THE HEALER'S GARDEN

MY FEEDBACK On This Book I found "The Healer's Garden" to be a Great Read. Throughout this Novel-- the Reader can actually feel heartfelt emotions as the author walks you in one door and out another. The book is a combination of romance, drama, and suspense. There's never a dull moment from chapter one to the ending. The reader can feel the sadness, happiness, fear and glory combined. For the icying on the cake---the ending is Happy, and the reader is left with that famous question related to Craving. What happens next? Last but not least, there was a Good moral to the story, which adds another golden star to the clever thoughts of this author. It's not about gay or straight. It's about Happiness in our lives--filling that voided space in our hearts that makes us younger--regardless of race--color--creed--orientation. We all grow up in a society, searching for love, and giving love. When labels are attached to reasons for happiness--that's where the word happiness must be clearly defined, because mistakes through this journey could change our lives forever.

Monday, January 21, 2008

*****THE HEALER'S GARDEN

~~BOOK REVIEW~~ Jahara is a twenty-eight year old woman, who is a medical director of a hospital, and runs a healing facility. Merenith is a gifted animal trainer, and runs a vet clinic and farm. Although not legally binding, Jahara and Merenith pledged a commitment to each other, after rehearsing their sacred vows of love. Jahara's ring on her left hand reminded them everyday of their vows. They lived a quiet life together in the heat of the desert, riding their horses into the mountains, or hiding along cool forest trails was where they shared their private life. Merenith did everything in her power to win Jahara's happiness, but Jahara always felt something was missing, a small hole in her heart existed that she never spoke about. Merenith always knew that one day Jahara was going to be ordered through a governmental law, requiring Jahara to leave Merenith for two years. Jahara would have no control over the situation, and Merenith had completed her mission for this order years ago. Jahara's papers came in, with details about her mission to "The Garden Of Serenity." "The Garden" on the outside consisted of villages, appearing beautiful to the eye, like the "Garden Of Eden." Merenith did her time years ago, where she gave birth to two babies, a male and a female, but finds it too painful to talk about until now. Out of love, she desperately tries to convince Jahara that "The Garden" is not that bad, swallowing painful memories while calming Jahara, trying to enforce courage. Merenith was totally convinced that after Jahara fulfills her obligation to this order, they could bury the memories together, and move on with their lives. Merenith was unaware that their life together was about to shatter like broken glass, before Jahara's mission was completed. Jahara is riding a train with approximately one- hundred women, thinking quietly to herself about this place, not knowing if she will survive what she has dreaded for years. Her mission is to become a human incubator for nine months. She was required to give up her professional job at home, give birth to two offspring with the probability of never raising the infants, then return home to Merenith. "The Garden" was fifty-two miles long, consisting of several villages, and a hospital. Jahara was on that train with the new breeding group, ordered for their services for a minimun of two years, providing each woman prayed that their time would not be extended, if an infant didn't survive, or if the newborns were not female. Women at "The Garden" were superior, and men were used as slaves, and treated like animals. According to the governing laws, the soul purpose of men was for reproduction, and labor. Although "The Garden" was pretty on the outside, it was really the house of horror and torture. The soul purpose of "The Garden" was to create a superior female world, eventually eliminating any males from the population. Doctor Bresilee was in charge of "The Garden." She ran it like a militant, filled with hatred, despising all men. As a young woman, she was abused sexually, living with burned scars on her body, and in her mind. Her revenge to men turned into insanity to where she would do anything in her power to rid all males from the world, including murder. Behind closed doors of "The Garden" existed a haunted house of terror, torture, and death. While working as a healer in the clinic, Jahara learns that Doctor Bresilee performed experiments, ordered castration, and extinguished bodies in an incinerator. Jahara falls deeply in love with a male breeder named Brenimyn, and her past thoughts of men completely change, while her relationship with Merenith ends. Doctor Bresilee becomes informed through her spies that Jahara is aware of the brutality, and illegal punishments committed everyday at "The Garden." Brenimyn becomes the leader of many men, giving speeches, and protesting for equality. Doctor Bresilee orders her guests to beat and castrate Brenimyn, while planning to murder Jahara. In a desperate struggle to save their lives, Jahara and Brenimyn find themselves in a war, fighting for their rights and freedom of slavery for all the residents. Jahara fights back, saves Brenimyn's life, and completely changes "The garden" after the death of Doctor Bresilee. Merenith and Jahara contribute to changes in governing laws for the people, ensuring equality for all, and put brutality to an end. Jahara and Brenimyn get married, and live happy. Reading through this novel is like watching a classical movie that's packed with romance, suspense, and horror. It's the kind of novel the reader cannot finish tomorrow, after feeling every emotion the human body can endure by chapter three,when there are many more chapters to read. The author was clever to begin with love and peace, making the reader calm and content. Suddenly, a few chapters later, the reader is weeping at tragedy. Finally, just like in a horror film, the reader sits at the edge of his seat, gasping at the thought of Jahara and Brenimyn being murdered, which you don't find out until the last few pages. the romance is as good as it was on "The Titanic." The suspense was as good as one of Alfred Hitchcock's thrillers. The ending was superb as the heroes showed how love conquers all. 1/21/08 Geri Ahearn IOM Reviewer/Poet/Author 6 books

Friday, January 18, 2008

~A SPECIAL NOTE TO ALL AUTHORS~

I would like to take this opportunity to kindly ask All of you to Please be Patient. We all have other responsibilities to meet on an everyday basis. As far as the REVIEWS are concerned--if you wish to come back and request a second or third book to be REVIEWED--that's Fine. But, I will not REVIEW any book that needs to be done ASAP--24 hours or in 2 days. My thought on feedback for your REVIEW should Not be rushed, and each book should be given the same time span. As an Author of 6 books myself--I know what it takes to get it published. After that huge step--the book should be Respected for Each REVIEW I do. I refuse to put a time slot--I feel Authors deserve More. During my time of reading--I also Make several Announcements--which is a Great Promo for your book. I aim to give each book I read the Respect & Attention that the Author deserves. So...If I'm REVIEWING---You & Your Book will be Under the Spotlight until my REVIEW is Posted On this Blog & other Websites. In the Same manner in which I respect your book--I kindly ask that you All Respect my wishes. Thankyou, and have a Great Weekend!

***BOOK 4 FOR REVIEW***

WAKE (teen paranormal Novel) BY: Lisa McMann http://www.myspace.com/lisamcmann

~~WHAT AM I READING NOW~~

THE HEALER'S GARDEN (ebook-futuristic erotic suspense Novel) By: Nina Pierce http://www.myspace.com/ninapierceauthor Book 2 for REVIEW

****UPDATES****

I am Pleased to announce that "Stars In Their Eyes" for Book 1 REVIEW has finally appeared on Amazon & booksurge, of course in all due Respect with my numerous Reminder Emails>>LOL! Yes! It worked! I enjoyed this book so much that already I crave for Book 2. I could actually see the characters & laughed many times at the humor of Courtney & Leah. Those 2 together---makes you wonder--what are they up to now? A Great read indeed! The REVIEW can now also be read at Amazon.com And... http://www.booksurge.com/Stars-in-Their-Eyes/A/1419677632.htm Best of luck to you Danielle in All your Writing Endeavors!

Wednesday, January 9, 2008

*****Stars In Their Eyes

~~BOOK REVIEW~~ Courtney Primm is a young, beautiful and successful soap opera star on the show Chateau Pacific. Leah Conroy is Courtney's personal assistant, and her best friend. Their dream was to move to Los Angeles, where Ms. Primm could move up the ladder to fame and fortune, and Leah could become photographed by Hollywood's rich and famous. Their dreams became reality as they take the reader behind the scenes, while they live the unpredictable fast-paced life as they push and shove their way under the spotlights to reach stardom heaven. The cast and crew of Chateau takes the reader on a tour during onset and offset hours, describing how far a new star will go to get what they want, while climbing the ladder of glitter to fame. Courtney and Leah were introduced to living two different lives. One gorgeous life of glamour, lights, and action. The other life quite ugly, packed with lies, bribes, arrogance and dishonesty. Courtney's top priority is dedication and devotion to her career from soap opera queen to feature film. Leah will do anything in her power to help Courtney move up the ladder from cunning lies to back-stabbing schemes, to eavesdropping and spreading evil gossip. The reader is taken behind closed doors, observing the behavior and distrust among the cast and crew of Chateau. Leah's mission is accomplished as Courtney becomes more successful, but then Courtney meets Jay Barnes at an after party, and falls in love with him. Her life completely changes. She was used to living the fake life onset, and the real life offset. Now, she becomes confused, forced to add the role as a new wife. She realizes her life will never again be as easy and simple as playing Trina on Chateau. Her life is now complicated as she struggles to balance the weights of career and marriage. After Courtney and Jay get married , her decision making changes, and so does her personality. Stars In Their Eyes is a comically dramatic story about the lives of people who had the same dream, which was to become a famous actor or actress. The reader is shown the highs and lows of success, and learns why so many famous movie stars that meet in Hollywood decide to chose another state to live in for their private lives. Stars In Their Eyes shows the many reasons why couples are pulled apart from their private lives, while living under the spotlights, destroying their personal lives. This novel is an excellent soap opera in itself, while describing the lives of Courtney and Leah, who are faced with many obstacles as they attempt to climb that ladder. The reader is left with an ending similar to "Gone With The Wind." Courtney will worry about it tomorrow, and tomorrow for her becomes a new year. The talented author takes us through this story as we witness a roller-coaster ride of emotions, while craving for the next episode. I recommend this novel to all soap opera lovers, men and women as well, and all those who would love to visit the inside scenes of Hollywood's rich and famous. 1-9-08 Author Geri Ahearn, IOM Writer/poet/Reviewer Author of 6 books

Sunday, January 6, 2008

Saturday, January 5, 2008

~~~BOOK 2 FOR REVIEW~~~

The Next Book I Will Be Reading Is... The Healer's Garden (ebook--futuristic erotic suspense Novel) By: Nina Pierce--Author http://www.myspace.com/ninapierceauthor

~~~TODAY'S QUOTATIONS~~~

Friends and Friendship Without friends no one would choose to live, though he had all other goods. Aristotle There is a magnet in your heart that will attract true friends. That magnet is unselfishness, thinking of others first... when you learn to live for others, they will live for you. Paramahansa Yogananda

Friday, January 4, 2008

**SOMETHING TO THINK ABOUT**

~COURAGE~ One man with courage makes a majority. Andrew Jackson Courage is doing what you're afraid to do. There can be no courage unless you're scared. Eddie Rickenbacker

Thursday, January 3, 2008

~~~~A THOUGHT FOR TODAY~~~~

HAPPINESS When one door of happiness closes, another opens; but often we look so long at the closed door that we do not see the one which has been opened for us. Helen Keller

Wednesday, January 2, 2008

WHAT AM I READING NOW?

January 2/2008 Stars In Their Eyes (A Novel) By: Danielle Turchiano Writer/Producer/Director http://www.myspace.com/starsintheireyestv

Tuesday, January 1, 2008

~~BOOKS I WILL BE REVIEWING~~

Stars In Their Eyes (a Novel) By: Danielle Turchiano Writer/Producer/Director (book received) The Healer's Garden (ebook-futuristic erotic suspense Novel) By: Nina Pierce Author (book-not received yet) Wake (teen paranormal Novel) By: Lisa McMann Author (book-not received yet)